Mallikarjun Kharge becomes the new President of Congress: Biography, Family, Education and Political Career

19 Oct, 2022
Mallikarjun Kharge becomes the new President of Congress: Biography, Family, Education and Political Career

Congress has got its full-time new president today. Congress veteran Mallikarjun Kharge got 7897 votes and Lok Sabha MP from Thiruvananthapuram Shashi Tharoor got 1072. But who is Mallikarjun Kharge? Let’s take a look at his biography to find out more about him.

Mallikarjun Kharge Biography

Mapanna Mallikarjun Kharge is an Indian politician who has become the 98th President of the Indian National Congress (INC), and a Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha from Karnataka since 16 February 2021. He was also Leader of the Opposition in Rajya Sabha from 16 February 2021 to 01 October 2022. He is a senior Karnataka politician and was the Leader of the opposition in the Karnataka Legislative Assembly. He was the President of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee during the 2008 Karnataka State Assembly Elections.

Mallikarjun Kharge Family and Education

Mallikarjun Kharge lost his mother in the communal riots in Karnataka. His entire family got burnt in the fire of communal riots in Karnataka and he was forced to move to Gulbarga district. Mallikarjun Kharge's father's name is Mapanna Kharge and his mother's name is Saibavva Kharge.

After completing his schooling at Nutan Vidyalaya, Gulbarga, he received a Bachelor's degree from Government College, Gulbarga, and a Law degree from Seth Shankar Rahoti Law College, Gulbarga. He began his legal practice as a junior in Judge Shivaraj's Patil's office and worked on trade union litigation early in his legal career.

Mallikarjun Kharge Political Career

The political journey of Mallikarjuna had started during the time of college. During his graduation, he was elected as the General Secretary of the Student Union Leader in Government College, Gulbarga. In 1969, Mallikarjuna was made the legal advisor of MSK Mills Employees Union. Where he was a part of many movements fighting for the rights of workers. In the same year, he joined the Indian National Congress and became the President of Gulbarga City Congress Committee. Contested for the first time in the year 1972 from Gurmitkal constituency of Karnataka State Assembly and won. Became the President of the Octroi Abolition Committee in 1973 and the Leather Development Corporation in 1974.

In 1976, Mallikarjuna was made Minister of State for Education. In 1978, he became an MLA from Gurmitkal constituency for the second time and Devraj was appointed Minister of State for Rural Development and Panchayat Raj in Urs Mantralaya. Elected Karnataka Legislative Assembly MLA for the third time in 1983 and for the fourth time in 1985 from Gurmitkal. And he was elected Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Karnataka Legislative Assembly. Became MLA for the fifth time in 1989 and was made Minister of Revenue, Rural Development and Panchayat Raj in 1990. In 1994, 1999, 2004, 2008, he won 9 consecutive elections to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly from Gurmitkal. And in the year 1999, he was at the fore in the race for the post of Chief Minister of Karnataka.

In 2004, he became the Minister of Transport and Water Resources in the coalition government. In the year 2005, he was appointed as the President of Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee. Mallikarjuna contested and won the Gulbarga parliamentary seat in the 2014 general elections, defeating his BJP rival by over 13,000 votes. And in June 2014, he was appointed the leader of the Congress party in the Lok Sabha. Mallikarjuna was elected to the Rajya Sabha from Karnataka on 12 June 2020. And on February 2021, the Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha was made.

Related videos

यह भी पढ़ें

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.Accept