President Election 2022: Yashwant Sinha's challenge in front of Draupadi Murmu, see details here- Watch Video

03 Jul, 2022

Many important regional parties, following their political path apart from the axis of the ruling party and the opposition camp, have opened their cards regarding the presidential election and those who are silent are believed to be inclined toward NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu. In such a situation, for the common candidate of the opposition, Yashwant Sinha, now the fight is not of victory but to reduce the difference of votes. Despite being out of the NDA, the Akali Dal has increased Sinha's challenge by announcing to vote in favor of Murmu.

BJP and allies have an edge in 19 states, opposition has only seven states

For the joint opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha, the political developments in Maharashtra and the change of power are also going to be a setback because the votes of about 50 MLAs, including the rebels of Shiv Sena, which he would get will now go to Murmu's account. The value of the vote of an MLA from Maharashtra is 175 and according to this, about 8750 votes going to Sinha's account will go to Murmu. The value of the total votes of 543 MPs of Lok Sabha and 233 of Rajya Sabha in the presidential election is 5,43,200. The value of a vote of an MP is 700. Whereas the total value of the votes of 4033 MLAs of the Legislative Assemblies of all the states and union territories is 5,43,231.

In this way, the total number of votes of MPs and MLAs in the presidential election is 10,86,431, including the votes of the parties that came with the NDA in support of Draupadi Murmu, this figure has crossed six and a half lakhs. Another JMM from the opposition camp has given a message to the NDA that its vote is for Draupadi Murmu. While many Congress MLAs of Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh are also confused as to whom to vote. Keep in mind that there is no whip in the presidential election. The difference of votes between the parties and the opposition in the states can be gauged from the fact that after capturing the power in Maharashtra, the BJP and its allies have government and majority in 19 states.

Opposition parties now have power only in seven states namely Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Rajasthan, West Bengal, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Telangana. The ruling parties of Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Punjab and Delhi are not part of the ruling party or the opposition camp. The ruling BJD of Odisha and the YSR Congress, which is in power in Andhra Pradesh, had cleared the picture by sending their representative on the occasion of Murmu's nomination. The ruling Aam Aadmi Party in Delhi and Punjab has not yet opened its cards regarding the presidential election, but it is also interesting that AAP did not attend the meeting of the opposition parties in connection with the presidential election. In such a situation, the chances of you coming in favor of Murmu are not being ruled out.

Related videos

यह भी पढ़ें

This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.Accept